THE FRUGAL REPAST: 2019 EAC Production
AUG 16–18, 2019


This activity is made possible by the voters of Minnesota through a grant from the Minnesota State Arts Board, thanks to a legislative appropriation from the arts and cultural heritage fund.


Sponsored by VStar Entertainment Group

By Ron Hirsen
Directed by Sean Byrd

In 1913 Paris, a young Pablo Picasso is enjoying the beginnings of his recognized art career. Prominent art dealer Ambrose Vollard is excited to help Picasso debut his newest work, The Frugal Repast. Two down-on-their-luck circus performers see the art and realize that they are the subjects depicted, and decide to steal it and hold it for ransom.

Unbeknownst to them, the piece is only one of many etchings, and worth almost nothing at all. A ransom note, a mysterious invitation, aerial acrobatics, and mishaps abound as the wealthy and the poor tackle the value of art and life in this hilarious yet poignant show.

Tickets: $18 for adults, $15 for students


VStar Entertainment Group is offering a matching funds—up to $2,000—for every dollar donated to the Emerging Artists Company by August 19!


Clara Bortnem
Annika Hall
Aidan Hefner
Val Heideman
Carter Johnson
Jayla Johnson
Eleanor Lindsay
Cooper McCalister
Kathleen Reandeau
Gabby Rosen
Will Rosin
Erin Smythe


Emerging Artists Company is a company of dedicated youth performers, designers, and technicians who come from diverse backgrounds and experiences.

We emphasize theater creation through a collective power structure to practice the art of collaboration.

We strive to create theater that’s open and accessible to all audiences.

Our goal is to demonstrate the multiple talents and capabilities of young artists to these audiences.

We aim to challenge ourselves and the community to understand the world in a new way through how we practice theater. 


Artistic Director/Directing—Sean Byrd
Company Manager/Stage Management—Samson Perry
Acting—Austen Fisher
Technical Director/Scenic Design—Cory Skold
Lighting—Erin Belpedio
Costume—Paula Anderson
Sound—Kevin Springer


Kallie Jo Ascheman, Jonah Broos, Katie Calger, Kaitlyn Callahan, Cassie Devries, Carlyn Grande, Leah Lind, Jackson Peterson, Bailey Rosdahl, Emily Rosdahl, Jaida Ruiz, Jad Stanfield, Stephen Tanquist, Taylor Torok, and
Johnathan Yoakam


2018: Butterfly
2017: Peter/Wendy
2016: Still Life With Iris