Jan 8–31, 2016

Music and Lyrics by William Finn
Book by Rachel Sheinkin  
Directed by Zach Curtis   

An eclectic group of six mid-pubescents vie for the spelling championship of a lifetime. While candidly disclosing hilarious and touching stories from their home life, the tweens spell their way through a series of [potentially made-up] words hoping to never hear the soul-crushing, pout-inducing, life un-affirming “ding” of the bell that signals a spelling mistake. Six spellers enter; one speller leaves! At least the losers get a juice box.

Using competition to define themselves from their crazy families and struggling to escape childhood, their search is overseen by grown-ups who never completely succeeded in escaping it themselves. A nominee for six Tony awards in 2005, and winner of two, this delightful comedy is fast-paced and loved by many.

Production Photos



Rona Lisa Peretti: Lexi Harper  
Douglas Panch: Rick Wyman
Mitch Mahoney: Daniel Vinitsky    
Charlito "Chip" Tolentino: Matthew Berdahl    
Olive Ostrovsky: Anna Larranaga  
William Morris Barfée: Tim Davis  
Marcy Park: Alison Rigazio    
Leaf Coneybear: Kyle Szarzinski  
Logainne "Schwarzy" Schwartzandgrubenierre: Callie Schroer

Artistic Staff

Director: Zach Curtis
Music Director: Elise Beckel Santa
Choreographer: Shannon Roberg
Stage Manager: Laura Hanson
Scenic Designer: Karen Tait
Costume Designer: Annie Rupprecht
Lighting Designer: Adam Raine
Properties Designer: Travis Collins
Sound Designer: Jason Hobbie
Asst. Stage Managers: Nancy Kuhn, Ethan Unger
Sound Board Operator: Emily Ludewig