Music and Lyrics by William Finn
Book by Rachel Sheinkin

Directed by Zach Curtis
Music Direction by Elise Beckel Santa

An eclectic group of six mid-pubescents vie for the spelling championship of a lifetime. While candidly disclosing hilarious and touching stories from their home life, the tweens spell their way through a series of [potentially made-up] words hoping to never hear the soul-crushing, pout-inducing, life un-affirming “ding” of the bell that signals a spelling mistake. Six spellers enter; one speller leaves! At least the losers get a juice box.

Using competition to define themselves from their crazy families and struggling to escape childhood, their search is overseen by grown-ups who never completely succeeded in escaping it themselves. A nominee for six Tony awards in 2005, and winner of two, this delightful comedy is fast-paced and loved by many.



The Cast

Lexi Harper Rona lisa peretti  

Lexi Harper
Rona lisa peretti

Rick Wyman Douglas Panch  

Rick Wyman
Douglas Panch

Daniel Vinitsky Mitch Mahoney

Daniel Vinitsky
Mitch Mahoney

Matthew BerDAHL charlito "Chip" Tolentino

Matthew BerDAHL
charlito "Chip" Tolentino

Anna Larranaga Olive Ostrovsky

Anna Larranaga
Olive Ostrovsky

Callie SChroer Logainne "Schwarzy" SchwartzandGrubenierre

Callie SChroer
Logainne "Schwarzy"

Tim Davis William morris Barfée

Tim Davis
William morris Barfée

Alison Rigazio Marcy Park

Alison Rigazio
Marcy Park

Kyle Szarzinski leaf Coneybear

Kyle Szarzinski
leaf Coneybear

Artist Staff

Director: Zach Curtis
Music Director: Elise Beckel Santa
Choreographer: Shannon Roberg
Costume Designer: Annie Rupprecht
Scenic Designer: Karen Tait
Lighting Designer: Adam Raine
Prop Designer: Travis Collins
Sound Designer: Jason Hobbie
Sound Technician: Emily Ludewig
Stage Manager: Laura Hanson
Asst. Stage Manager: Nancy Kuhn
Asst. Stage Manager: Ethan Unger