By Nell Benjamin
Directed by: Matt McNabb, Resident Director

The place is London, 1879. The prestigious Explorers Club is in crisis: their acting president wants to admit a woman, and their bartender is terrible. True, this female candidate is brilliant, beautiful, and has discovered a legendary Lost City, but the decision to let in a woman could shake the very foundation of the British Empire, and how do you make such a decision without a decent drink? Grab your safety goggles for some very mad science involving deadly cobras, irate Irishmen and the occasional airship.

First performed in the summer of 2013 at the Manhattan Theatre Club II, The Explorers Club is a freewheeling farce lauded by Variety as “wildly funny” and “comic gold” by the New York Post. A rare comedy that fulfills its mandate: to do nothing more than make you laugh–and it surely will.


Photo credit: Michael Traynor



        Peter Ooley         Harry Percy

        Peter Ooley
        Harry Percy

        Brandon Osero         Lucius Fretway

        Brandon Osero
        Lucius Fretway

        Jessica Scott         Phyllida Spotte-Hume

        Jessica Scott
        Phyllida Spotte-Hume

        Bob Zalazar         Professor Cope

        Bob Zalazar
        Professor Cope

        Grif Sadow         Professor Walling

        Grif Sadow
        Professor Walling

        Nick Menzhuber         The Irish assassin

        Nick Menzhuber
        The Irish assassin

        Leigh Webber         Professor Sloane

        Leigh Webber
        Professor Sloane

        Warren Sampson         Sir Bernard Humphries

        Warren Sampson
        Sir Bernard Humphries

        Brendan Veerman         Luigi

        Brendan Veerman

Artistic Staff

Director: Matt McNabb
Dialect Coach: Keely Wolter
Stage Manager: Cameron Butler
Costume Designer: Samantha Kuhn Staneart
Makeup Designer: Mark Lopez
Light Designer: Jason Wipf
Sound Designer: Jeff Geisler
Scenic Designer: Brian Proball
Special Props: Nate Otto
Production Director: Brian Proball
Master Electrician: Adam Raine
Prop Master: Emma Davis
Technical Director: Karen Tait